Some little things I have learnt about QGIS -1

Yes, QGIS is one of my favourite resource, and I am happy any time I have to work with it.

IMHO, learning curve is quite steep at the beginning, If you try to use it the way you work usually in Windows, it presents you its hostile face. If you want to delete a feature, you click on it with the “wrong cursor”, when you find the right cursor you wander everywhere looking for a “delete” button, just to find that it doesn’t exist or it is deactivated… If you are a beginner you can understand me, if you are skilled likely forgot your first approach.

Anyway now, until I have not forgotten them, I collect some little tricks absolutely obvious for a skilled user, but sometimes very irksome for a beginner:

  • How to set and read Project CRS
  • How to move a feature
  • How does native:sumlinelengths works? Does it consider just part of lines inside a polygon? Short answer: yes
  • How to delete GeoPackage
  • How to create GeoPackage

These are the titles of next brief posts. See you soon!

Leave a comment